Jul 19, 2021

Ultimate Cup Series au Castellet

The Ultimate Cup Series took place for the second time in 2021 at Le Castellet. As in the first round in May, around 120 cars were gathered on six different grids.


It was under the sun that the Circuit Paul Ricard hosted the third event of the Ultimate Cup Series and the second visit for 2021 on the Var track.

During the whole weekend the drivers competed on the 5.8 km track across six categories: Proto P3 / P4, Proto CN / EVO, Nappa GT-Touring Endurance, Kennol GT-Touring Sprint, Single-seater and 208 Racing Cup and Relay.

Unmissable, the GT-Touring field consisted of various models, ranging from the Ferrari 488 GT3 to the Renault RS01, including the 308 Cup, Mercedes AMG GT3 and other Porsche 911 GT3 Cup and Alpine Cup ... After four hours of endurance race, the Renault RS01 of Dezoteux / Tribaudini won against the Mercedes of the Samani / Collard team and the Ferrari 488 GT3 of the Pagny / Hallyday / Bouvet trio. In the Kennol GT-Touring Sprint race, the first three places were all won by the Renault RS01s with, in order, Marc Waechter, Bernard Delhez and Gilles Colombani.



The single-seater category trusted by a single man

In addition to endurance in GT, the Monoplaces competed in three races. Three events, punctuated by the melody of the engines, and won by Jean-Baptiste Vela, followed by Nicolas Prost and Dylan Young, for the first two races, the latter having reversed their classification for the last.

The GTs and Monoplaces were accompanied by the Proto P3 / P4 and CN / EVO, as well as by the 208s for sprint (four races of twenty-five minutes) and relay (four hours of racing).



A 100% Circuit Paul Ricard team

 The event welcomed renowned drivers and personalities such as Nicolas Prost (Single-seater), Dorian Boccolacci (Nappa GT-Touring) and David Hallyday (Nappa GT-Touring). Alongside these competitors, the Circuit Paul Ricard had been invited to enter a crew!

On board the Proto EVO number 83, Stéphane Clair (General Manager of the circuit), Frédéric Julien (Director of Karting) and Cyril Raymond (Associate Director of Karting) took turns for the three qualifying heats and the three hours of racing.

They finished in first place in the Proto-Evo category.